Application and review process

Swedish researchers may apply for scholarships for publishing research in jurisprudence. Swedish universities may nominate researchers for doctoral and post-doctoral positions.

Applications submitted to the Foundation will go through a peer review procedure.

For more information and application go to the Swedish pages.


The Nordic Law Prize

Since 1980, the Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation has awarded a prize for scientific contributions to jurisprudence, Nordiska juristpriset, The Nordic Law Prize.

The Foundation for Jurisprudential Research selects the candidate after receiving nominations from the relevant associations in the other Nordic countries. The prize, amounting to SEK 1 million, is awarded every three years.

Read more in the Swedish pages.



The Wallenberg Foundations

The Wallenberg Foundations is the collective name for 16 non-profit public and private foundations established by individual members of the Wallenberg family or in honor of family members. 

The Foundations granted a total of SEK 2.7 billion in 2023. 

The largest of the Wallenberg Foundations is Knut and Alice Wallenberg Foundation, founded in 1917, which promotes scientific research within the natural sciences, technology and medicine.

The other two large foundations are Marianne and Marcus Wallenberg Foundation (scientific research mainly within the social sciences), and Marcus and Amalia Wallenberg Foundation (scientific research mainly within the humanities).

In addition, there are a number of other Wallenberg Foundations.